A new report by the Liechtenstein Institute on Self-Determination, "Grand Strategy and Self-Determination," analyzes the relevance of grand strategy through a historical lens as well as its role in today’s policy-making environment of multiple international crises.

* Note this employment opportunity is open to current Princeton University students only.

Headshot of Jose Manuel Barroso

The Honorable José Manuel Durao Barroso, former president of the European Commission, has been appointed the Frederick H. Schultz Class of 1951 Visiting Professor of International Economic Policy and a policy fellow of the Liechtenstein Institute on Self-Determination (LISD) at Princeton University. This appointment in the Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs will begin Feb. 1, 2015.

Poster announcement for Grand Strategy and Self-Determination conference

The Liechtenstein Institute on Self-Determination at Princeton University (LISD) convened a seminar, “Grand Strategy and Self-Determination” at Princeton University’s Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs on November 19-20, 2014. This special Liechtenstein Colloquium (LCM) commemorated the twenty year anniversary of the Liechtenstein Initiative for the study of self-determination at Princeton and also coincided with the twenty-fifth year of the reign of Prince Hans-Adam II of Liechtenstein. 

The Liechtenstein Institute on Self-Determination’s Project on Gender in the Global Community co-sponsored a panel discussion, "Boko Haram and Cycles of Violence: Strengthening Prevention Using the Women Peace and Security Agenda," on Thursday, October 30, 2014, at the United Nations in New York.

His Excellency Dr. Khalid Bin Mohamed al-Attiyah, Foreign Minister of the State of Qatar, visited Princeton University’s Liechtenstein Institute on Self-Determination and the Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs for both a private discussions and a public lecture, “Qatari Foreign Policy Today: Challenges and Opportunities, on Monday, September 29, 2014Accompanied by H.E.

The Program on Religion, Diplomacy and International Relations (PORDIR) has selected seventeen 2014-15 Fellows in Religion, Diplomacy, and International Relations through a competitive application process. PORDIR fellows participate in weekly lunch seminars, conduct original research, and participate PORDIR's annual colloquium.

About the Fellows:

In a new LISD White Paper, "Drones for Peace," LISD non-resident associate, Michael P. Kreuzer, analyzes potenital dual-use capabilities of Remotely Piloted Aircraft (RPAs), commonly referred to as "drones." Focusing on the example of possible roles and capabilities in the conflict in and around Syria, Kreuzer discusses traditional military and security uses of RPAs, as well as possible humanitarian ones.

The Liechtenstein Institute on Self-Determination is currently accepting applications for pre- and post-doctoral residencies, and for volunteer positions with the Institute's Student Associates Program for the 2014-2015 academic year. LISD seeks residency applications from pre- and post-doctoral applicants who have independent funding and whose research is applicable to any of the Institute's current projects.

Application Deadline (EXTENDED): Thursday, October 2, by 5:00 p.m. to Angella Matheney.

The Liechtenstein Institute's Program on Religion, Diplomacy, and International Relations (PORDIR) is now accepting applications for 2014-2015 student fellows. The theme for this year’s fellowship is Religion and Violence.